Week 4: POP UP BOOK POST

This pop up assignment was interesting it allowed me to explore a whole new way to interact with something as simple as paper. It created the equation that if you do this, that will happen while making it fun and interesting. I took a little bit of a different approach with this in the way that I made it interactive I did however struggle a little bit with coming up with a solid idea and going with it as many of my initial ideas did not pan out the way I had imagined them in my head and drawn out on paper. 😦

!
Where? :: Why this structure? What made you settle on the idea you did?!

I really enjoyed the castle theme, I was discussing with a friend Game of Thrones which triggered some different ideas such as sleeping beauty, snowwhite and everything I really enjoyed as a child. I drew some different ideas in which I wanted to incorporate into my design.
How? :: Directing us to the appropriate photos (see below) talk about your construction process.

I began with my prototype designing how I wanted to construct my book I think this was the most important step without a foundation I was unable to build upon my idea and lay things out. I had completely forgotten to take any photos of my final attempt of construction I do however have a picture from a friend of me clearly loving every moment of my design.
Problems? Solutions? What would you do differently next time?!

Problems that I most commonly ran into was the fact that once you cut paper its really hard to fix that mistake. I got stuck with the construction of my first page, initially I wanted to include a door on the castle but that however did not work the way I intended so I instead decided on a moon. Now the process in which I had to follow to get that done was tricky to find something that was strong enough to keep the momentum of the moon without it getting stuck so it could fluidly move back and forth. I settled on using a pipe cleaner initially and that was too flimsy so I had to put something around that to support it. The only thing I could find that would remotely work would be a straw in which gives it a bit more support to the pushing and pulling motion. If I had thought about it previously I would have instead used a stronger wire or something slightly smaller. I had an idea with a mirror and again that did not pan out either as the tin foil I was intending on using was not reflective enough and would not work for the purpose it which I wanted it to serve. I would have liked to have done it but with the lack of materials handy it was difficult to pull that one off.
Who? :: Discuss your intended audience.!

My intended audience would be a younger audience as this is so simple and child like I do believe if I were to put a target audience it would be ages between 3-6 years of age.

Why? :: Speak to the interactive capabilities of paper engineering generally, as well as your
book specifically. What is our attraction to these objects?!

I couldn’t think of anything super crazy to do however I kind of switched up the interactivity that I used it is so generic to just use the push and pull and I wanted to do something a little bit different. On page two I used a wax paper in which I put over top of the text, to give the audience a chance to really explore by seeing and touching. Doing this allows the audience to read some text that I had put under the wax paper. The audience needs to move the paper around in order to make out the poem that is located beneath the paper.

The 3rd page kind of didn’t work out the way I had initially intended however I wanted to keep with the castle type theme which a big giant old clock in which allows you to move the hands on the clock is fun and kind of gave me the idea that what you do with the time is up to you.. just kind of how life plays out – what you decide to do with your time is up to you. Then I wanted to continue with the child theme including a mouse but first a little riddle with painted on foot prints to where you’ll find the little mouse hiding under the other flap, and the audience gets a little surprise when they find the little mouse hiding.

20140127_130937 20140127_131014 20140127_1310452014-01-27 13.07.14

 

Prototype

20140121_004629 20140121_004636 20140121_004642

 

Leave a Reply

